Renting an aparment safely?
Posted: 02 September 2011 06:48 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2011-09-02

hello 😊 I will be moving to barcelona in one month and I have been panicking none stop about finding an apartment, my goal is to find a small studio flat but if I have no luck I wont have a problem of finding a room for rent in a shared apartment, the thing is I am scarred I’ll be scammed by the agency or the person renting the apartment out. the thing is im pretty young and I still live with my parents so this is my first time living alone so i really have no experience in renting a room/flat!
help!  I need some tips about how to figure out if something is fishy and how to take safety measures before renting an apartment in barcelona (meaning which documents do I have to check or something like that).
thanks in advance to anybody who answers!

Posted: 02 September 2011 05:27 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expat
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  56
Joined  2011-07-28

What you need to know are the basics of renting (as of any country).. but especially in Spain, due to the crisis, there are issues with trust so many landlords will ask for what they call an “Aval” (bank security, where you have to pre pay something like up to 6 months of rent plus administration fees for the bank), or they might ask for 2 months rent in deposit in cash, or even prepay 6 months of rent. Rental Contracts will be in Spanish, so if you?re scared and don?t speak the language, best get a Spanish speaker with you.

I think the easiest (and cheapest) thing you should do is rent a room in a shared flat rather than rent your own studio. That way you?ll have everything set up, meet some friendly people who will help you get started. Numerous sites like Loquo and Idealista have sections advertising rooms. Or if you?re going to study at a Uni, ask them for help. Or if you?re short on help, look for expat or student agencies. They will most likely charge commission, but at least you?ll be sure.