Can Anyone Tell me how this works/what is the point?
Posted: 19 December 2012 11:41 AM  
Expatriator
Total Posts:  683
Joined  2007-11-01

I read in a newspaper recently (one of the English Freebies - possibly Olive Press or Euro Weekly) that the govt is
planning to DISALLOW supermarkets to sell their own brand food.  I.e Stopping the lower pricing?

I am no economist and don’t understand what all this is about.

Surely if the point is to create growth (in any sense of the word), high turn over of cheaper goods, which benefits the end
user/enables them to survive is the way to go?

I have no knowledge of economics so please excuse my ignorance.

I can’t remember the exact wording of the article/the whole topic, only that they wanted to stop the sale of lower priced (own brand)
food.

Does this mean they want us to pay for more expensive branded/imported food?

Back to my original Q .. If we are suffering already, how are we supposed to survive on higher priced food.

:(

Posted: 19 December 2012 11:59 AM  
Expatriator
Joined  2007-11-01

I have just found the article - p39 of this edition of EWN

http://www.euroweeklynews.es/virtual-papers/item/111200-costa-del-sol-6-12-december-2012-issue-1431

Comments welcome - as I still don’t get it…. :(

Posted: 19 December 2012 06:12 PM  
Administrator
Total Posts:  825
Joined  2006-06-15

Well thats Mercadona out of the game then since 95% of their stuff is own name brands…!

fb

Signature 

Help desperately needed

https://www.facebook.com/ruido.blanco.773

Posted: 19 December 2012 11:04 PM  
Expatriator
Joined  2007-11-01

Si… It’s like saying to Tesco’s or Asda - ‘we are taking away 60% of your revenue income!’
And ‘sod the customers, you are just going to have to pay higher prices!

Grrrr…..

(All of this of course is speculation, but it does make me wonder who is in charge and if they have any idea of
what it is like to be on a tight budget!)

Posted: 19 December 2012 11:25 PM  
Administrator
Total Posts:  825