Starting a new life in Spain
Posted: 21 September 2006 10:54 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2006-09-21

Hello.  I am planning to move to Barcelona in November.  I was to start a class then, but it has been moved to January.  So, I will have some time on my hands.
I am a 42 year old divorcee who wants to start a new life abroad, in Spain.  I am an ESOL teacher and would like the experience of my students.  Unfortunately, my Spanish is nothing to brag about.  I do plan to attend SSL classes especially when I have so much time on my hands, but would like to know what other activities are available.  Suggestions?

Also, should I start obtaining a visa while I’m still in the States and what is the process and cost?  What areas in Barcelona are the safest for a single, blonde, American woman, that are affordable (no more than 800 Euros).

If any expats are interested in getting together, it would be nice to have other English speaking, especially American, people to talk to, and cushion the transition (especially if you are interested in American politics).

Oh, one more thing, anyone out there bring a pet with them?  If so, could you clue me in on the process and costs behind it.  I have a cat and would prefer to bring her with me.

Well, thats a bit of me.  Asta la vista.

Posted: 22 September 2006 05:26 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2006-09-22

Hi lillith63
“Asta la vista”???? That means shaft the view??
I think you might have meant something else?
lol
Regards,
Lmjohn

Posted: 25 September 2006 01:55 AM   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1682
Joined  2005-12-05
lmjohn - 22 September 2006 05:26 PM

Hi lillith63
“Asta la vista”???? That means shaft the view??
I think you might have meant something else?
lol
Regards,
Lmjohn