Highly educated and skilled writer/researcher wants to move to Spain - now what?
Posted: 04 January 2010 01:14 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2010-01-04

I am currently living Granada for 1 year under a non work visa and working remotely for a college in the United States. I am a US citizen. I’ve been in the workforce for 15 years and have experience in banking, insurance, consulting and most recently as a writer/researcher. I am also a professional bike mechanic which I work on as a side job. Any ideas for places to find work in Granada or Andalucia? I don’t see much on the want ads. I am unable to continue my work for my US college after one year as they want me to return to the States.

Any and all help much appreciated!

Posted: 04 January 2010 03:59 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1682
Joined  2005-12-05

Start a business? Something online would probably suit you well. 😊 Perhaps a web site offering bike repair advice or know-how. What other interests do you have? Do you have a blog yet? Are you on Twitter/Facebook, etc?

Signature 

“Vocation is where your greatest passion and the world’s greatest need overlap.”

Now follow SpainExpat.com on Twitter for updates, advice, news, and forum highlights.

Recommended reading: working visa (non EU), other visas, jobs in Spain, teaching English (non EU), finding apartments, holidays, mobile/cell phones, NIE cards, gestors.

Posted: 04 January 2010 05:39 AM   [ # 2 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2010-01-04
The Expatriator - 04 January 2010 03:59 AM

Start a business? Something online would probably suit you well. 😊 Perhaps a web site offering bike repair advice or know-how. What other interests do you have? Do you have a blog yet? Are you on Twitter/Facebook, etc?

I have run a successful Ebay business for 6 years but am not sure that would get me the visa needed to stay here. I have a website for my shop and am on Facebook - why do you ask?