New Boiler
Posted: 07 May 2010 10:54 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2010-05-07

Hi, Just a tip. If you’re going to replace your boiler. If you buy Gas, you have to pay an annual inspection charge. If you use oil / diesel you don’t. When I bought my boiler I wondered why all of the businesses kep pushing gas so hard - now I know.

I’m not technical or a plumber etc, just a suffering ex-pat customer of these businesses !

I hope it helps

Posted: 16 May 2010 04:09 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  235
Joined  2007-04-25

Even if you use natural gas, butane, propane, oil or diesel boilers, water heaters or central heating, it’s still a good recommendation to have it checked every year.

My tip here is to find a reliable local installer for whichever system you use, to perform a yearly check.

We recently had our central heating caldera inspected and serviced and it cost about ?80. This included flushing and cleaning the system, along with replacement parts (due to calcification, we run off well water). Can’t grumble at all at that. The previous owners hadn’t bothered servicing the system in the five years since installation, so this was likely the heaviest service cost. Next service is due, which shouldn’t cost more than ?30 to ?40.

As an incidental though, I am aware that some of the bottled gas companies suggest you “have to” pay an annual inspection charge. This actually isn’t the case and is entirely optional. Some of the chaps that come to inspect installations, do tend to make it sound like it isn’t optional. They’re just trying to commit people to their service. You’re entitled to use whoever you want to perform such inspections or checks.