Claiming la renta back and other tax stuff
Posted: 16 August 2011 07:55 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2011-08-16

Hi, I’ve been looking for information regarding this but just don’t know where to start.
My situation is I’m a self employed English musician presently living in England and I have been booked to work with a Spanish band during the winter during which I’ll be based in Spain and I have a few questions regarding Tax etc.
Firstly I’m having the renta de las personas fiscas deducted at source and it’s 24% which I’m told is quite high, is that right? Should I get it lowered?
The management retains this 24% which the other Spanish guys in the band, who pay 22%, say they claim back every few months. Would it be possible for me to do this? If so how, and does the payment I get back relate to how many work related expenditures I have like British self employment?
I realise all this info is out there somewhere be I don’t have the first clue where to look.
Thanks

Posted: 18 August 2011 09:45 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  682
Joined  2007-11-01

Hire a ‘Contable’ who will do it all for you?
(Altho of course it would habe to be econimical to do this.  My last one charged a lot of money - I.e Eu 100 per quarter, plus extra for everthing they did - i.e submitting forms).  You need to shop around/get a second opinion as I never thought the accountant was earning their money. (Thankfully I never picked up the bill as the UK co I was working for, but here, insisted I was self-employed and paid his bills).

I think most people use a cheaper ‘Gestoria’ for the basics. (Eu 40 for an annual tax return).... I found out this after I stopped working for the UK outfit.

Posted: 18 August 2011 10:05 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Joined  2011-08-16