Spain 2013 with a dog and basic Spanish?
Posted: 14 May 2012 11:37 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2012-04-29

A few questions about Spain…

I really wanna teach English (and look in to a career teaching), do people think this industry will exist in 2013? I’m an EU citizen with no experience teaching, but I have a degree and will have a CELTA.

I may have a small dog by then… Can I take it with me? I’ll be renting and I know it’s hard in London to find a place which accepts animals, is this hard in Spain?

Are vetinary bills expensive?

Am I crazy, moving from a secure (but uninspiring and stressful) job in London to teach English in Spain? I’ve wanted to do it for years.

Edit: Apologies for any bad grammar or spelling; I only have rubbish phone internet!

Posted: 15 May 2012 12:00 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  265
Joined  2011-09-10

Hello Sel.

Well, it is your call, and only you can make the decision to move to the relative insecurity of seeking work in another country at this time.
There will always be a demand for language teachers.  It might be an idea to work first for a while as an English teacher in the U.K. (at a language institute or similar), get some experience and see how you like it.

You can bring a pet to Spain, but it is important to obtain the documents for the dog in the U.K. before you leave.  Veterinary certificate, passport etc.
You could enquire at a veterinary practice where they may be able to advise you.
On the other hand, you could adopt a dog if and when you come to Spain.

In Spain many landlords are reluctant to let to a tenant who has a dog or dogs.  Some may be more lenient.  It is hard to say.  Looking at the “to let” ads will give you an idea of the general feeling of landlords in this matter. 

Veterinary treatment is relatively expensive IMO wherever you are.  I am sure some of the dog owners on this website will have more detailed information for you.

Good luck
Patricia