Moving to Malaga - some advice?
Posted: 08 July 2011 05:19 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2011-07-08

Hi,

I’m a student and am moving to Malaga in August for a year-long work placement as part of my degree course. I was just hoping to get some advice on a few issues.

1) Bank account - I’m currently considering a few options, but would like any tips on the best one.
- I could either upgrade my UK account to one which doesn’t incur charges for withdrawing money abroad (but does carry some charges for using my card to pay in shops etc, and costs ?10 a month).
- I could get a card from MyTravelCash and use that, reloading it as required from my UK bank account.
- I could attempt to open a Spanish bank account, however I do not really know the ins and outs of doing this - would it even be possible?

The only reason I’d prefer a Spanish bank account is because I am getting paid in Euros and will be paying my rent etc in Euros to another Spanish account.

2) Learning the language - I’m currently self-teaching myself Spanish and hope to have a grasp of most of the basics by the time I move to Spain. But I’m also considering doing a language course while in Spain - if anyone has any recommendations for good language courses in Malaga that would be helpful (I do have a limited budget though!).

3) Mobile phone - I’m intending to just use my phone (unlocked) and get a Spanish sim card. Are there any good ones you’d recommend? Any good PAYG deals? If possible, I’d like a sim with cheap international texts/calls and maybe some mobile internet too - I know there’s plenty of UK sims which offer deals on things like this but are there any Spanish ones?

Any general advice and tips would also be greatly appreciated. Are there any things that its absolutely vital I do before moving to Spain or in my first few weeks there? Literally anything will be helpful!

Thanks in advance 😊

Posted: 08 July 2011 08:36 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2855