Spanish citizenship and US citizenship question
Posted: 24 May 2007 07:54 AM  
Expat
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2007-03-15

I have spanish citizenship through my father and acquired american citizenship about 12 years ago so I had dual passports. My spanish one expired about 3 years ago and now when I went to renew it they tell me I have to request reinstatement of my spanish citizenship since I had 2 passports. This makes no sense to me. The only thing that lapsed was my spanish passport in my opinion. I have some paperwork dated 1984 that states I can have dual citizenship.
My question is has this changed? Now I have to reapply for spanish citizenship and am required to write a letter stating why I want my Spanish citizenship reinstated.
Any ideas whats going on???

Posted: 24 May 2007 03:03 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expat
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  34
Joined  2006-12-15

As far as I know (and I’m no lawyer or expert) the Spanish do not allow you to have dual citizenship. My British friend got Spanish citizenship and had to hand in her British passport at the time and swear allegiance to the Spanish flag. Of course, the next day she reapplied for her British passport and as the British do allow you to hold more than one passport, at the consulate they just marked down ‘given up to Spanish authorities’ or something similar on the application form and happily gave her and her kids another one. Apparently it happens a lot.
My advice - swear to be a good Spanish citizen and then do whatever afterwards!

Posted: 24 May 2007 06:51 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Expat
RankRankRank
Joined  2007-03-15