Citizenship advice needed
Posted: 28 September 2007 03:15 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2007-09-28

Hello.  I am a US citizen who lived in Spain for 15 years, from 1980-1995.  Since I was a resident for 10 years does this mean I can obtain citizenship, or is it no longer valid since I have lived in the US for the last 12 years?
Thanks for your advice.

Posted: 08 October 2007 11:57 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2007-05-31

Do you have any documents to prove your residence from 1980-1995 ?

Signature 

felix lopez jordan
spanish lawyer

Posted: 16 October 2007 12:33 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2007-10-16

Ferny,

I am in a similar circumstance and from what I have seen by some quick web searching is that; if you have previously satisfied the residency requirements, then you qualify for a shorter term (one year) to acquire citizenship. The Spanish lawyer would probably be a better source of information for this and I have not searched for official policy or regulations on this.

My situation is:
I was born in Spain in 1979 and resided there for three years.
My parents are (and were) both US citizens.
Neither of my parents were consulars or diplomats.
However, my father was serving in the U.S. Navy in Rota at the time of my birth.
I have documentation in the form of a US passport with a visa/exit stamp for Spain.

I am not sure, but, the “did not apply for their Spanish nationality within the legal period” portion may apply for your situation, as I think the “born in Spain, whose parents are foreigners legally residents in Spain” portion applies to myself…

Dave

The Spanish Nationality may be acquired in the following ways

1. By Birth
  2. By adoption
  3. By Residency
  4. By registration

BY RESIDENCY
  The period of residence may be 1 year those persons:
    * who born in Spain, whose parents are foreigners legally residents in Spain.
    * Whose spouse is a Spaniard.