Really need some help on this one
Posted: 04 March 2008 09:27 AM  
Expat
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  36
Joined  2007-12-27

My wife and I have narrowed our search down for places to live in Spain but still need some help from the forum, please.

The list is as follows; Malaga,Almeria,Cartagena,Torrevieja,Alicante,Altea,Xabia/Javea,Denia,Valencia

From your experience which city/location best satisfies the following criteria;

good choice of local schools for my two kids (aged 10 & 7), safe environment to live in, good beaches/shopping/nightlife, and where my kids can learn Castilian Spanish without the influence of too much regional accent.

If any members have experience of living in any of these places I would love to hear your comments.

Many thanks for any help that you can give.

Posted: 04 March 2008 06:51 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  303
Joined  2006-03-16

Hi, I’m not an expert on beach areas and from your list it looks like you’re concentrating on the costas, but here’s my two-pennyworth.  Malaga is a sophisticated city with just about everything you could want, and it’s very Spanish despite proximity to the big resorts. Like any big city it has some crime and some outer neighbourhoods are a bit ugly and rough, while others are very expensive. The Spanish spoken is pretty standard for Andalucia - folk from Granada think Malaguenos are rather formal.  Almeria is another pleasant city, again a bit rough around the edges, and a lot of the province is covered in plastic greenhouses which are an eyesore.  However, it has the Cabo de Gata nature reserve with unspoilt beaches, good diving etc.  Inland you’ve got desert and hills going up to mountains in the Alpujarra.  Strong accent but nothing too weird. Cartagena struck me as quite interesting but a bit rundown (the city) and spoilt by development around golf courses around the fringes (you might like that; I don’t personally), standard Southern-accent Spanish as far as I can tell. In