A student en espaniol
Posted: 23 June 2006 06:32 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2006-06-23

I may not be an expat, but I am thinking about becoming one. I was hoping to maybe have some of my questions answered before hand, to help me make my decision.

Essentially, I am a student looking at doing my Masters degree abroad (in Physics).

1. What are the various Universities in Spain? And, if possible, anyone know which ones have good Physics departments (ties with CERN definitely a plus - particle physics)?

2. What is rent like in Spain, if, say, I was looking for a 1 bedroom apartment? I would furnish my own place, I think. (Since it is probably city dependent, I am really only interested in the cities with good Universities)

3. How difficult is it to get by with little to no Spanish? Will I be able to pick it up quickly?

4. I liked the articles about obtaining Visas and such, but, from personal experience, just how much of a hassle is it to take care of the paperwork involved?

Anyways, thanks very much in advance, and kudos on the great website.

~Travis

(PS: I hope I posted this in the right section!)

Posted: 23 June 2006 08:06 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Just Landed
RankRank
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2006-06-21
TawM - 23 June 2006 06:32 AM

1. What are the various Universities in Spain? And, if possible, anyone know which ones have good Physics departments (ties with CERN definitely a plus - particle physics)?

2. What is rent like in Spain, if, say, I was looking for a 1 bedroom apartment? I would furnish my own place, I think. (Since it is probably city dependent, I am really only interested in the cities with good Universities)

3. How difficult is it to get by with little to no Spanish? Will I be able to pick it up quickly?

4. I liked the articles about obtaining Visas and such, but, from personal experience, just how much of a hassle is it to take care of the paperwork involved?

Hi Travis,