1 2 > 
1 of 2
Questions…
Posted: 30 January 2007 08:42 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2007-01-30

Hi all, considering teaching English in Spain next year, total beginner to all this though. Couple of questions:

- How does it work with contracts and so on? Does one usually have to commit for staying the whole academic year or are there opportunities for a shorter stay?

- Is it possible to find a job teaching in Spain just with the TEFL qualification you can get in a weekend back here in the UK?

Many thanks,

Andy

Posted: 30 January 2007 11:15 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1682
Joined  2005-12-05

IMHO, the TEFL cert you get in a weekend is junk, but it might prove to be better than nothing. That being said there are quite a few decently qualified (fully TEFL cert’d) teachers here ie. more than nothing and often with experience. The TEFL cert program (full one, 4 weeks) gives you a pretty big edge on the competition, lots of networking opportunities and prepares you for the reality of teaching both kids and adults.

Your best bet is to arrive in August/Sept and start looking for jobs for the fall when it’s hiring crunch time for the academies. Also you might want to consider teaching at a summer camp, which might be more plausible without any experience or TEFL and increase your odds for opportunities for the fall.

Regarding your questions specifically about the contracted time, there’s nothing preventing you from signing a year long contract (or 10 months really) then ditching when you need to… except your ethics.

Signature 

“Vocation is where your greatest passion and the world’s greatest need overlap.”

Now follow SpainExpat.com on Twitter for updates, advice, news, and forum highlights.

Recommended reading: working visa (non EU), other visas, jobs in Spain, teaching English (non EU), finding apartments, holidays, mobile/cell phones, NIE cards, gestors.

Posted: 01 February 2007 03:52 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Tourist
Rank