FORM FD9
Posted: 28 May 2009 04:34 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2009-03-04

Hi

I am a resident of Spain.
I submitted a Form FD9 last June for Tax Year 2007/08 (English and Spanish)
I have recently received a Form FD9 for the current year from CAR Residency in UK which I have duly completed.
My tax advisor tells me that I do not need to complete this since it is a once only obligation in order to register with the authorities.

Is this information correct?????

The reason I am asking is that I know of other British people who insist that it must be returned to UK annually.

Kindly advise or direct me to the appropriate legislation.
Trying to do the correct procedure in Spain is a pain in the butt…..just too many differing answers.

Barry W

Posted: 03 August 2009 09:45 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  744
Joined  2009-01-22

If you are a UK expat residing permanently in Spain - you should, by law, declare for income tax in Spain. Because there is a double taxation treaty between Spain and the UK you don?t have to pay twice.

To stop paying tax in the UK you have to complete an FD9 form available from here:
http://search2.hmrc.gov.uk/kbroker/hmrc/forms/viewform.jsp?formId=982

This from HMRC site (UK tax office):
?Use form Spain/Individual (ie the FD 9) to apply for relief at source from UK Income Tax and to claim repayment of UK Income Tax under the terms of the UK/Spain Double Taxation convention. This form applies to residents of Spain receiving pensions, purchased annuities, interest or royalties arising in the UK. The form is in English with a copy in Spanish. You need to complete both copies.?

This only need to be filled out once - unless you later receive another UK source of income (ie another pension becomes due) when this has been successfully processed in the UK you will receive pensions free of tax ie paid gross (except Civil Service pensions which are always taxed in the UK)