1 of 2
Non-EU national, accepted for residency, seeking work permit advice
Posted: 06 July 2009 06:01 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2009-07-06

Hi all,

I have been reading many of the helpful (although sometimes dismaying) posts on this site about the difficulties for non-EU nationals to get work permits here.  However, most of these posts regard the challenge of getting a work visa and coming here for the expressed purpose of working.

But, what if you are already here in Spain for other reasons and now would like to get a work permit?

More specifically, here is my situation:

1. I am a US citizen (therefore non EU)
2. I just moved to Spain from Hungary where I was participating in a MA program in Budapest for 10 months (not sure if this is relevant but since this means I was a resident of a EU country for 10 months perhaps it is?)
3. I moved here to reunite with my wife who is a student pursuing her MBA at a school here in Barcelona.
4. Last week I was approved for a residence permit (although apparently I have to wait 1 month before picking it up).

So I am now living in Barcelona and am a legal resident (at least provisionally until I get my residence permit card one month from now).  But I also want to work (teaching English most likely).  What is the best way to go about getting a work permit?  Should I apply for jobs first hoping to be one of the lucky ones to find an employer who will help me with the paperwork?  Or is there a way for immigrants who are legal residents to apply for work without a job offer?  It seems to me it would make my job search much easier if I first had a work permit first but am not sure what my chances are of getting one w/o a job offer.