Freelancing for companies overseas but living in Spain
Posted: 28 August 2009 01:05 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2009-08-28

Hi,

I hope someone can give me some advice.  Im originally from the Uk and have recently moved back to Barcelona after living in Australia the past couple of years.  I lived in Barcelona for 3 years before that and have my NIE etc and was employed full-time by spanish companies previously.  I’m a web developer and for the next 3-6 months I will be freelancing for clients in Australia and the UK, though the workload is irregular - so perhaps one month I will not be paid much and the next a lot - and being paid retrospectively into accounts into both countries.  I will also be travelling away from Spain a lot. 

My question is what I should do regarding taxes/social security etc and signing on as autonomo as I will probably look for full-time employment in Spain later on which will organise these things for me, plus I am not going to be working for any spanish companies or being paid into a spanish account or in euros - my payments will be in other countries and currencies - so how do I work out the tax situation from these??  I am not registered for tax in the Uk as I haven’t lived there in 8 years or so, and have left Australia permanently so am no longer registered there for tax purposes.  If anyone who may have been in a similar situation can advise me what the best way to go about working legally here for the next 3-6 months, that would be great!  Or if anyone knows any affordable gestors I can speak to for advice that would be great too! Thanks!

Posted: 17 November 2009 07:19 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  306
Joined  2007-09-24