Claiming taxes when leaving Spain
Posted: 24 May 2010 04:19 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-05-24

Hi all,

I am about to quit my job here in Madrid a return to the US.  I will have been working in Spain for almost 3 yrs.  Does any know if there is any way to claim back any of the taxes I have paid into the system (i.e. retirement, unemployement, etc…) when I leave?  Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Posted: 24 May 2010 09:10 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2010-05-24

Can’t say I know but I do want to say Boiler Up! and that I’m a recent Purdue grad about to move to Madrid in September.

Posted: 29 May 2010 12:54 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Expat
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  39
Joined  2009-09-03
boilermaker7 - 24 May 2010 04:19 PM

Hi all,

I am about to quit my job here in Madrid a return to the US.  I will have been working in Spain for almost 3 yrs.  Does any know if there is any way to claim back any of the taxes I have paid into the system (i.e. retirement, unemployement, etc…) when I leave?  Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I haven’t heard of being able to recover any social security contributions - I am guessing they will be lost forever.  If you have been paying income tax from your monthly salary this year, you would probably get a tax rebate if you did a tax return next year because of the personal allowances you have.  You would have to keep a bank account open to receive the money into.

Signature 

Advoco Accountancy & Law Spanish Income Tax Rates, Allowances and Declaration Thresholds 2010

Posted: 29 May 2010 03:13 PM   [ # 3 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  744
Joined  2009-01-22

I was waiting for someone legal to comment as I was unsure but I doubted very much if social security payments would be refunded as I don’t think that is ever the case. Still nothing wrong with optimism!

Signature 

Rob
http://spainreexposed.wordpress.com/

Posted: 11 June 2010 07:29 PM   [ # 4 ]  
Expatriator