moving to spain with a young child
Posted: 06 July 2011 12:15 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2011-07-06

Hi everyone. I am moving to Spain next June permanently. I am a complementary therapist and undertaking a level 7 diploma in advanced therapies before I leave, I’ve been trying to find out wither I could sit my degree in Spain, if they have the course and how funding works if there is any. Also i have looking into my daughters education I feel so far that state school doesn’t seem to step up, is it to the standard of main stream school in the UK? As it is my 1St priority. Also with regards to tax as a lone parent how would it work is it the same as the UK? medical insurance for my daughter how would that work.

thanks

Posted: 06 July 2011 03:13 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Just Landed
RankRank
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2011-07-05

Hi Emma , Lou at Cpc holding here ,congratulations on taking the plunge , firstly the subject of your daughters education The Spanish state school system is very good however your daughter must be fluent in Spanish prior to starting or she will fall behind and be held back at least one year . It has always amazed me how many English people simply put non Spanish speaking children into a state school and just hope for the best , obviously you are thinking ahead so if the language is a problem perhaps you should look at the private English schools which are not so expensive depending on the area you are going to .

You can do a degree course in Spain but again the universities are totally Spanish speaking and grant funding is not normally available .

The health service in the more cosmopolitan areas is brilliant and in my experience knocks spots of the U.K I have found the hospitals to be clean and well managed and the level of medical care to be fantastic once you are paying social security / national insurance both you and your daughter are fully covered .