Help - Container in Customs, Tax question!
Posted: 26 August 2010 03:16 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2009-07-28

Hello,

I am from the States, recently moved to Madrid.  I have a work and resident visa and have a NIE.  I have applied for my NIE card at the police station, rented a house, applied for a NIF, have my empadronamiento, etc…I shipped my houshold goods in a container, it was basically my whole house, ~$25K in furniture, kids stuff, etc…

I have a moving company that is working with a customs agent.  I was under the impression that my houshold goods would not be taxed, all are older than 6 months, no new items, no appliances, etc…However, my agent is telling me that I need to pay a 24% tax.  I have provided my agent and customs with 3 years of paystubs, 3 years of taxes, phone bills (all showing I was a long term resident of the USA), copia cumpulsadas of my passport, visa approval letter, NIF application, home lease, empadramiento, etc…

Initially they were claiming I owed the tax because I was missing documents.  Then everyday they would ask for a new document, I would provide, then the next day they would ask for another one.  Finally after they ran out of documents to ask for, they now say I owe the tax because I did not register for Spanish social security.  I work for a US company and the USA and Spain have a bi-lateral agreement that says I pay US social security becuase I am expecting to be in Spain less than 5 years.

I do not beleive I should have to pay a tax from what I have been told but maybe I am missing something?  Does anyone have experience shipping goods from the USA to Spain for a long term resident move?  Did you have to pay taxes?

Thanks in advance!

Posted: 26 August 2010 06:50 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Joined  2009-07-28