IT professional looking to move to Spain
Posted: 16 August 2007 07:36 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2007-08-14

Hello,

I’m an IT professional working in the UK as an Enterprise Architect for a giant US company. My wife is Spanish and wants us to move to Spain (ideally near Bilbao).

I’d love to hear from people who work in IT and are based in Spain to help me work out the viability of moving there myself. Specifically, I have questions like a) what is the job market in IT like? b) is the pay roughly comparable with that of the UK? c) are UK qualifications (in my case an M.Sc.) considered equivalent (or does this matter at all?)?, d) what professional bodies are there in Spain that can help me find a position there?

I hate to admit this, but inspite of being married to a Spaniard my knowledge of the language is minimal; would I need to speak the language ultra-fluently before going there?

Any help will be much appreciated!

Regards,
Calvin.

Posted: 17 August 2007 03:27 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  112
Joined  2007-07-04

To be honest there?s not much call for EA in Spain but your skills and experience may be useful elsewhere.

You should read the following and then come back with additional questions:

http://www.spainexpat.com/spain/forum/viewthread/1396/

Oh yes, learn Spanish.  If you?re serious about living and working in Spain in IT, you should have started your Spanish courses yesterday.

Signature 

Posted: 22 August 2007 01:39 AM   [ # 2 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2007-08-22
Calvin - 16 August 2007 07:36 PM

a) what is the job market in IT like?
b) is the pay roughly comparable with that of the UK?
c) are UK qualifications (in my case an M.Sc.) considered equivalent (or does this matter at all?)?,
d) what professional bodies are there in Spain that can help me find a position there?

a) Its OK. Better than quite a few other job markets in Spain but still not quite as free flowing as in the UK.