Spanish Intestacy Nightmare… and my Dad only passed away 2 weeks ago… any help would be welcomed! THANK YOU!
Posted: 24 August 2012 01:11 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-08-24

Firstly, a huge thank-you to anyone reading this… I am a newbie here, one who’s in a bit of a predicament:

Basically, my father died a couple of weeks ago and I’m trying to administer his estate for my mother (I am the only child and my mother isn’t emotionally up to the task, quite understandably).

He also died INTESTATE.

Fortunately, I have sorted out “the Grant of Letters of Administration” that are needed, I have discovered, through a good solicitor I know in the UK.

HOWEVER… my parents own a Spanish property and I know Spanish Law has its own legal requirements. And that’s totally fair enough. But I have been told—by several different Spain-based lawyers (both Spanish and English)—that I need to get various documents “APOSTILLED” and then have “SWORN TRANSLATIONS” (into Spanish) arranged. I also need to have various other things “NOTARISED”...

My questions to anyone kindly reading are these:

(1) Can anyone recommend a firm who, for a reasonable fee (I don’t know what a reasonable fee might be?!?!), can APOSTILLE a Death Certificate, a Grant of Letters of Administration and a Certificate of English Law for use in Spain?

(2) WHAT EXACTLY do I need to get “SWORN TRANSLATIONS” of? I mean, what kind of documents need to be translated thus? I assume those documents in points “(1)” above, but is there anything else I need to get translated so that I can get the ball rolling with a Spain-based lawyer?

(3) Can anyone recommend a Spain-based law firm? I have taken a few quotes thus far, but all from firms I didn’t know from Adam 10 days ago. I guess a referral is always the best route.

If I appear to have missed anything else that I may need to address before enlisting a Spain-based law firm, I am all ears!