employed and aut?nomo a la vez
Posted: 09 January 2008 08:45 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-01-03

Hi everyone.  I’m a permanent resident in Catalonia,  been here for 7 years,  teaching English.  After two years doing private classes on the quiet,  this year I filed my forms to be aut?nomo because I heard through the grapevine that if you give invoices of more than 3000 euros to one company in a year,  the govt will sit up and take notice of you.
Anyway,  I started doing classes with some of the teachers at a local school and now the headmaster wants to take me on full-time to teach history.  Follow me so far?
Seems I will be doing about 30 hours a week eventually and I will be a full-time member of the staff with the same social security and tax contributions as the other teachers.
So,  my question is this…...  how do I combine this with my private classes.  I see no reason why I should stop doing private classes in the evening.  (I’m not afraid to work from 9 in the morning till 10 at night)

If all my private classes were cash I wouldn’t have a problem but I do classes with companies and issue an invoice,  sometimes for as much as 600 euros a month.   
Obviously my tax bill is determined by how much I earn,  but surely I don’t have to pay social security twice.
Any comments welcome.

Posted: 19 March 2008 11:02 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2008-03-18