Tax on Uk property rental with residency in Spain
Posted: 12 May 2010 05:07 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2010-05-12

Hello there

My partner has just been offered a teaching job in Mallorca. I am a total novice when it comes to anything like this so need all the advice I can get!  We are both British but plan to make the move to Mallorca in the next few months and take up residency. I own a property in the UK,  that I rent out using a letting agent and will continue to do so when we move. I also plan to get work when I’m out there, fingers crossed. I have been given an NRL 1 (non resident landlord) form to fill out which as I understand it, will exempt me from paying UK tax but could do with advice on Spanish tax laws etc.
Would it be beneficial to set up up a ltd company for the rental property or keep it as an individually owned property?

Thanks for any help/advice on this and any other things you think we should know

Posted: 12 May 2010 11:41 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  744
Joined  2009-01-22

Setting up a Spanish SL (= Ltd) company is complex and expensive (although I did hear that the government was going to simplify it to stimulate start ups in the current crisis)

I would doubt very much that that is a practical idea to reduce the tax liability on your UK rental income.

Suggest you read here
http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/cnr/nr_landlords.htm

and take professional Spanish tax advice.

Signature 

Rob
http://spainreexposed.wordpress.com/

Posted: 20 May 2010 12:32 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Expat
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  39
Joined  2009-09-03