Connectivity?
Posted: 26 July 2006 03:15 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2006-07-26

Hello all

Being new to this forum, I wonder if anyone can give me some advice.

I live in the UK, and will be visiting Salamanca early next year. I’m studying the Napoleonic (Peninsular) wars & will be traveling around Spain. Vitoria,Badajoz,Salamanca,Cuidad Rodrigo

etc….

I have a wifi enabled laptop & was wondering what would be the best form of connection - cable or wifi? Also can it be confirmed, if cable dial-up connection is recommended, what telephone socket adapter I need.

As soon as family situation allows, I will be moving to Spain full-time, then I will approach the forum for the fastest (and wisest!) advice. In the UK my connection speed is just over 5MB, from what I’ve read, this speed is currently not available in Spain.

Regards
Paul

Posted: 26 July 2006 03:23 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1682
Joined  2005-12-05

Hi Paul,

Welcome to the forums.

Have you checked out our page re: Internet in Spain? We have a lot of the info you’re looking for on there. From the wording of your post however, there seems to be some confusion between what wifi and cable/adsl are. One needs an ADSL/Cable internet connection in order to get wifi. They aren’t alternatives to eachother.

Also, 5MB is different than 5Mb. Indeed if you have a 5MB connection at home then you won’t find anything in the consumer range of Internet products existing here (that I’ve heard of), but many ISPs in Spain now offer up to 20Mb. Remember there are 8bits (b) to 1 byte (B).

Signature 

“Vocation is where your greatest passion and the world’s greatest need overlap.”

Now follow SpainExpat.com on Twitter for updates, advice, news, and forum highlights.

Recommended reading: working visa (non EU), other visas, jobs in Spain, teaching English (non EU), finding apartments, holidays, mobile/cell phones, NIE cards, gestors.

Posted: 26 July 2006 05:08 PM   [ # 2 ]