Bright and professional Canadian seeking work in Spain from the UK
Posted: 23 May 2007 08:37 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2007-05-18

Hello:

I am a 23 year old Canadian who is currently living and working in the UK.  I have been here for 6 months and have not found the type of job that I would ideally want and personally have not enjoyed English culture (or the weather!) as much as I would have hoped.  I have a bachelors degree in business with a specialty in marketing.  My work experience is primarily in the service sector including 3+ years in the financial services sector.  I have plenty of volunteer experience including coordinating and planning 20+ events for university students. 

About a month ago I visited Spain for 3 weeks and voluntarily participated for a week-long program called VaughanTown where native English speakers converse with native Spaniards to help them improve their spoken English.  The visit/holiday was a pure breath of fresh air and I loved absolutely everything about Spain.  I didn’t want to leave but sadly I had to leave the sun and return to the clouds of Manchester.

I am very interested in acquiring a job where I get to work with people in one way or another.  I would ideally like to work in event management, health & fitness, sport (massive football fan) or language/culture.  I desire a job that will develop me professionally and as an individual.  I would love to teach English as well and have the opportunity to learn Spanish as I am already bilingual in French and English.  A third language would be wonderful!  I am looking work that will last at least one year.

The one problem that I face is that I am a non-EU citizen.  I have a 5 year Ancestry Work Visa for the UK (because my dad is English born and holds a UK passport) and as far as I know, this does not allow me to work in Spain without a work permit/visa.