Transitioning from “Student” NIE to Autonomo freelancer for residency
Posted: 15 August 2011 05:14 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2011-08-15

Hey There! I’ve read tons of the helpful posts on becoming and remaining Autonomo to reside and work in Spain, but I’ve got an issue, still!

*The situation:

I’m American w/ a residency/NIE from a program and I want to use this NIE/residency to start working Autonomo. I’m doing a two year part time teaching program w/ the Spanish government in Spain (technically they classify me as a student or student visa 180+ days, even though I’m not a student) and I want to know how sustainable it would be to use my NIE/residency I received from this program to file all my paperwork to become Autonomo and remain Autonomo (working freelance as an English teacher and paying all my taxes/SS) AFTER the program finishes and continue to renew residency on this new Autonomo status.

*Details:

The program is 2 years and technically it says I’m a student, but I just help teachers in the classrooms of public schools w/ English part time. So I moved to Spain in October ‘10 w/ this program and got my NIE and TIE card and have been a resident in Spain since then. When my TIE expires this November ‘11, I will renew it on behalf of doing the program for my 2nd and final year with all my paperwork from the program that allows me to have residency in Spain. After I finish my 2nd year, my TIE will expire again in December ‘11 and I will have no ability to stay in Spain legally because I cannot repeat the program again. Before all this happens, I want to file all my paperwork for becoming Autonomo and do additional work for a language academy starting this fall or winter as Autonomo AND I want to stay in Spain working like this after that other program finished and my TIE from it expires.

*So my burning question/the real issue here: