American moving to Barcelona needs Laptop advice
Posted: 06 December 2006 05:25 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2006-09-21

I’m moving to Barcelona in two weeks and am in the market for a new laptop.  My concerns are: What OP system is most compatible for Europe.  2) Internet cards….should I be concerned with their performance in Europe?  3) Adaptor sets….?

I am not a technology expert by any means and would appreciate any advice.  My use of this laptop is for communication, correspondence (wordprocessing), and research.  I need to know that when I get to Barcelona, I will be able to walk to a Wifi Cafe and communicate with those back home until I am able to establish my own internet service.

I appreciate any responses.

Posted: 06 December 2006 07:20 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1682
Joined  2005-12-05

Hi Lilith

Well we have a lot of information about the Internet situation in Spain, different ways to get it, compatibility issues (there aren’t any really), etc on our Spain Internet page. Specifically though I’d recommend an Apple computer in general, unless you’re an expert Windows user who enjoys the pain of Windows computing (okay, I’m biased, but biased as an ex-expert Windows user). I’ve noticed Apples are more popular among the expat crowd in particular though, any way you cut it. My mother just converted to Apple as well, and she’s not an expert with either Mac or Windows, she just saw me using my Mac at home and loved it.

No, there aren’t any issues with Internet cards, the ones that come with any new laptop are standard and will work just fine. There aren’t any adapters, although some new laptops don’t have old-school phone modems, which could be an asset if you are totally stuck without access to wifi or need to receive faxes on your computer, so you may have to pick up a modem adapter depending on what model of laptop you buy (just ask the salesperson).

Good luck and happy computing in BCN!

Signature