I sound like a cheapskate but…
Posted: 01 September 2009 06:00 PM  
Just Landed
RankRank
Total Posts:  25
Joined  2008-03-04

...I’m absolutely pink lint since hubby got made redundant. I’m thinking of getting a job teaching English just to get some income rather than none. I am under no misconception that I’ll make a regular or decent income from this just a few extra pennies here and there.

The problem is, for a job that potentially pays a third world salary the courses are extortionate!

The lowest I have seen so far is 150 quid. Now I know you pay for the quality and blah blah blah but a teacher is only as good as his pupil and in that respect I’m quite good at learning off my own back.

I was wondering if anyone knows of a way to just pay to sit the exam and find your own learning resources? The whole idea of paying for tuition seems like a bit of a con to me. I studied for and passed my A-levels as a private candidate so I don’t really share the classroom mentality. Besides, you only learn as fast as the slowest student in the class anyway, not much point if you ask me.

Thanks in advance guys

Emma

Signature 

“Interesting concept Mr Spack, now where do we find a Pelican?”

Insane asylum escapee offering many useless services such as:

Website design, Freelance journalism/content writing/editing and photography

PM me for info
Seeks Babysitter near La Cala for Bratlings.

Posted: 08 September 2009 10:11 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  95
Joined  2009-05-27

I don’t think a 150 quid course is going to do you much good…  the CELTA is the standard for entry level training, and that’s well over 1000 euros.
Random online TEFL traning is a wast of money, I’ve heard.

I’ve also heard that the CELTA is a very tough course.. and that you do learn a lot about teaching foreign language properly. Most of the people you’ll be up against for jobs will have this training, so it seems like it’s worth it to get it.