Teaching English in Spain and getting certified
Posted: 20 February 2009 12:53 AM  
Expat
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  44
Joined  2007-02-12

Hi all,

I am looking at teaching English here in Barcelona as a career change. I have read the articles located here and have a few questions, if anyone here has answers, please reply. I am a legal resident and can work legally in Spain.

My questions are about choosing a school for my certification. I have checked several of school?s websites and have found that getting the certificate online instead of in person is about half the price, 600 or 700 euros.

Is getting the certificate online going to hurt my chances of landing a job compared to taking the classes in person?

Does the schools certification hurt my job chances if the certificate is not Cambridge accredited?

Iwill be greatful for any help that is out there.

Thanks,

Danny

Posted: 20 February 2009 01:58 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1682
Joined  2005-12-05

Hi Danny, did you read our the article on TEFL courses?

Signature 

“Vocation is where your greatest passion and the world’s greatest need overlap.”

Now follow SpainExpat.com on Twitter for updates, advice, news, and forum highlights.

Recommended reading: working visa (non EU), other visas, jobs in Spain, teaching English (non EU), finding apartments, holidays, mobile/cell phones, NIE cards, gestors.

Posted: 20 February 2009 03:27 AM   [ # 2 ]  
Expat
RankRankRank
Joined  2007-02-12

I did, but I don’t believe they talk about getting certified online, do they? I’ll check.

Danny

Posted: 20 February 2009 03:43 PM   [ # 3 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2009-01-28

Hi Danny,

I’m not actually an English Teacher so I hope you don’t mind me replying…but I’ve been planning on moving to Spain and ESL teaching for about a year now, and have done all the research.