Bank accounts for tourists? US citizen, non resident, account for occasional use?
Posted: 09 February 2007 04:09 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2007-02-09

I apologize if this has been answered a hundred times, but I’m still unclear on the details.

I’m a US citizen, living in England, with no visa for Spain other than the standard tourist stamp they give you when you turn up at the local airport.  I don’t intend to get any visas, either, because I don’t intend to work in Spain or stay longer than 6-8 weeks at any given time.  However, because I am a PhD student in the UK and my research is about Spain, I travel there frequently.  So far I have just paid for things with UK or US credit cards or cash, but my advisor has asked me to set up a Spanish bank account. 

I have seen the non-resident accounts mentioned, but I’m not clear on what “justifying your nonresident status” means, nor the right term in Spanish for this kind of account.  Has anyone in a similar situation opened an account in Spain, and have you found it to be an advantage at all?

Posted: 09 February 2007 11:43 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1682
Joined  2005-12-05

Hi Mander,

Don’t sweat the details too much. Just go into the bank you’ve chosen (hopefully a caja - they’re cheaper) and ask for a non-resident account. Bring your passport, that’s all you need. You’ll probably have to provide an address however. Not sure if that’s a problem for you, but if so then you may need to venture over to Los Correos and get a PO Box first.

How’s your Spanish? If not so good then I suggest bringing a translator.

Signature 

“Vocation is where your greatest passion and the world’s greatest need overlap.”

Now follow SpainExpat.com on Twitter for updates, advice, news, and forum highlights.

Recommended reading: working visa (non EU), other visas, jobs in Spain, teaching English (non EU), finding apartments, holidays, mobile/cell phones, NIE cards, gestors.