Posted: 11 January 2008 02:14 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-01-11

Hi All!

This is my first post, so I’ll include a brief introduction;
Skip this if it doesn’t interest you 😊
I’m a 30 year old married, South African male caucasian. My wife and I are sick and tired of the crime, corruption and ‘reverse appartheid’ here in SA and think it’s time to move(overdue!). I work in IT, but have 5 years study + work experience in Shiatsu massage but gave it up for the sake of income. My wife is fully bilingual(English & Spanish) and works in PR. We are both working on how we’re going to move over securely. My errr Spanish is still quite poor unfortunately.

My questions follow:
1. How easy would it be to go Autonomo as a massage therapist? (My concerns are whether they will recognise my certification - which SA, coincidentally, does not)
2. It seems there are several ‘modes/flavours’ of Autonomo; which one would apply to me?
3. What amount of money would I need to have in the bank?
4. Is there anyone here that would be interested in interviewing me for employment, if I flew over(for either IT(Junior .NET Development(C#)/SQL ) work or massage) <—-lots of brackets 😛

Anyone that could offer me ANY guidance and advice on these topics, I would be extremely grateful!

We have a friend in Spain, who unfortunately is very busy and not being an expat can’t give as much advice on all of this.
We are REALLY desperate to move, I’d even marry him to bypass the legal system, but this would not really help my wife 😛

Thank you to anyone who responds!

Mark.

Posted: 11 January 2008 07:18 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1682
Joined  2005-12-05
SA=2muchCrime - 11 January 2008 02:14 PM

1. How easy would it be to go Autonomo as a massage therapist? (My concerns are whether they will recognise my certification - which SA, coincidentally, does not)
2. It seems there are several ‘modes/flavours’ of Autonomo; which one would apply to me?