Self Employment Visa Info From Chicago Spanish Consulate Website
Posted: 05 December 2007 08:20 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2007-12-05

I’ve been scouring this site for an answer to this question but have been unable to find one.
I am a US citizen looking to move to Spain and work in the Spanish film industry and/or teach private English lessons. I currently work as a freelancer/contractor in the film industry in Texas and I plan to take a TEFL course to get the required skills to teach English. My question is about what is required to get a self employment visa. Here’s what the Chicago Spanish Consulate Website says (I hope this might also be helpful to other members here):

Requirements:

5.- Official Work Authorization approved by pertinent Labor Authorities in Spain, or
a.- Declaration of specific type of activity or occupation to engage in;
b.- Proposal of a projected business to engage in, with market analysis and feasibility study showing sufficient investment;
c.- Diploma of education degree required for proposed activity, validated by Spanish Authorities;
d.- Bank statement from a bank in Spain showing a minimum balance of $100,000 or certificate by the Direction General of Foreign Transactions that applicant has investments in Spain for said amount, or Public Deeds showing investments in Spain for same amount, or a combination of all three for the same established amount.

My question is this: do I need to show a,b,c, AND d or just one of these? I was hoping to just show my resume of previous work to meet the requirements of “a”.

Also, if I have to get an “Official Work Authorization” document, how do I get one of these for teaching English or working in films?

In a perfect world I’d like to apply for my self employment visa and my NIE while still in the states, move to Spain, then return to Houston to pick up my visa. Is this a pipe dream?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Dan

Posted: 05 December 2007 11:29 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator