Moving to Spain but working for UK company
Posted: 09 January 2007 03:41 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2007-01-09

Hi,

Myself and my girlfriend are looking at moving to Spain this year.  I work as a web developer for a large publisher in London and they have agreed that I can keep my job and work from Spain.  My girlfriend will need to find work in Spain (shes fluent in Spanish and Im learning).  There doesnt seem to be any specific information about how to manage our circumstances in terms of tax payments for me and other contributions.  We are looking at moving to Barcelona.  Is anyone else in the same situation or can anyone offer any advice?

Many thanks,

Jim

Posted: 09 January 2007 11:10 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1682
Joined  2005-12-05

Hi Jim,
I knew someone, an American actually, who was working here in Barcelona for about a year for his company in the US. Since he was a journalist/content writer, everything was done online, like web development. No one (as far as governments were concerned) knew about this, nor are they going to care because the laws on this haven’t really been written. Welcome to the new Internet world for working nomads.

In your case your employer will probably pay your taxes in the UK, you’d do well to avoid declaring residency status in Spain (you don’t need to, but do empadronarse at your local council) or you’ll end up confusing everyone involved.

This is all unofficial advice by the way…

Signature 

“Vocation is where your greatest passion and the world’s greatest need overlap.”

Now follow SpainExpat.com on Twitter for updates, advice, news, and forum highlights.

Recommended reading: working visa (non EU), other visas, jobs in Spain, teaching English (non EU), finding apartments, holidays, mobile/cell phones, NIE cards, gestors.

Posted: 10 January 2007 05:09 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Joined  2007-01-09