Have job offer - work visa question
Posted: 16 January 2012 01:06 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2012-01-16

Hi All,

Ive been sorting through all the posts but still can’t find anything quite like my case.
I am a 26 year old female Canadian citizen.  I have been backpacking Europe and the UK for 3 months and fell in love with Spain.
While here I went for an interview and was offered a job position.
I knew I had to look into a visa from there and I am well aware of how difficult it is.
I spoke with the Spanish consulate in Canada and was told the employer first needs to apply for a permit in order to be able to hire a non EU citizen.
Upon letting the company know what I was told they set up a meeting with their lawyer who is apparently specialized in the work permits for non EU citizens.  He told them that currently the job market is entirely closed for non EU citizens unless supremely qualified and in need.  Due to this they didn’t seem to want to proceed and left it at that.
Do you think it’s just because of the hassle?  Is there still someway I could get a work visa or student visa or something so that I can take up this job?
Im know if there’s a will there’s a way and am not convinced by not even trying!
It’s the most perfect position and I’ll do whatever it takes to be there.
I’d happily make the attempt to go without a visa however they didn’t seem to even consider this option.
So what are my options?
I know a student visa is easier to get so what are the requirements?  Could I take a year long Spanish course or something and work part time?  As I do want to learn Spanish of course.
The goal is to be on Mallorca as that’s where the position is.
Please let me kno any thoughts or advice
  Thanks
  Shawna

Posted: 18 January 2012 05:44 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1682
Joined  2005-12-05